Poster Session

Poster Session

The Poster Session is open to all attendees to contribute. Students and young professionals are especially encouraged to participate; see the information on the Charlie Sampson & Mir Ali Poster Awards below. Poster topics can relate to any of the program sessions or any other pharmaceutical statistical topic. All posters will be accepted until there is not more space to present them.

Abstract submission is required and is open at ; please be sure to select “Poster” for your submission type (not Speaker).

Please note the deadline for submission is Friday, April 09, 2019. If you do not receive confirmation after poster submission, please email your poster abstract to registrar Cindy (Lee) Wilson at and Bing Liu at

Poster size should be 4′ (width) by 3′ (height). Logistics on posters will be communicated by this year’s poster chair by early April. Please contact the poster chairBing Liu ( for any questions.

Charlie Sampson & Mir Ali Poster Awards

The Charlie Sampson & Mir Ali Poster Awards were created to commemorate Charlie & Mir’s contributions to the MBSW since its inception 42 years ago. To qualify for the award, the author(s) of the poster must be current students or students who graduated in the past year. The award consists of $200 to be presented at the banquet on Tuesday night.

Posters will be judged on content, originality, presentation, and contribution to a biopharmaceutical issue. Judges will review all posters and decide on award recipients.

The poster session is a great way to participate in the workshop. For the limited number of financial grants made available to students, preference is given to students presenting a poster or paper. The funding grant application is available here.

Past Charlie Sampson & Mir Ali Award Winners

2019: 1st Place (Two Winners)

Jing Li, Indiana University

“A Comparison of Methods to Test and Estimate Treatment Effect with Potential Non-Proportional Hazards”

Naim Al Mahi, University of Cincinnati

“Bayesian Deep Learning to Predict Drug Mechanism of Actions from Gene Expression Signatures”

2018: 1st Place (Two Winners)

Jincheng Zhou, University of Minnesota

“A Bayesian Hierarchical Model Estimating Causal Effects in Meta-Analysis with Missing Noncompliance Data”

Bochao Jia, University of Florida

“Learning Gene Regulatory Networks with High-Dimensional Heterogeneous Data”

2017: 1st Place

Ting Ye, University of Wisconsin-Madison

“A Robust Approach to Sample Size Calculation in Cancer Immunotherapy Trials”

Lifeng Liu, University of Minnesota

“Quantifying Publication Bias in Meta-Analysis”

2016: 1st Place

Ran Liao, Indiana University

“Frailty Based Semiparametric Models for Semi-Competing Risk Data”

2015: 1st Place

Ningning Chen, Purdue University

“Assessing Inter-rater Agreement for Multivariate IHC Scoring Data”

2014: 1st Place (Two Winners)

Jingjing Yan, Ohio State University

“A Flexible Two-Dimensional Distribution for Combining Studies in Meta-Analyses of Binary Events”

Brittany Schwefel, Univeristy of Wisconsin-Madison

“Estimating the Survival Time to a Composite Outcome when Event Ascertainment is Non-Monotone and Delayed”

2013: 1st Place
Mohammed R. Chowdhury
“Nonparametric estimation of conditional distribution functions with longitudinal data and time-varying parametric models”

2012: 1st Place
Hsin-Fang Li
“An Environment Wide Association Study (EWAS) for Periodontitis using NHANES”

2011: 1st Place
Chunyan Cai
“A Bayesian Phase I/II Design for Oncology Clinical Trials of Combining Biological Agents”

2010: 1st Place (2 students)
Cen Guo
“A Multinomial Modeling Approach for Signal Detection in Adverse Event Reporting System”

Eric Reyes
“Bayesian Average Error Based Approach to Hypothesis Testing and Sample Size Determination”

2009: 1st Place (2 students)
Michelle Quinlan
“Proposed Methodology for Shelf Life Estimation”

Ashok Krishnamurthy
“A Survey of Phase I Clinical Trial Designs and a Iterative Phase I/II Design Incorporating Genomic Biomarker Information”

2008: 1st Place
Cheng Zheng
“Metabolite Qualification and Quantification from NMR Spectra”

2007: 1st Place
Yiyi Chen
“Optimal Adaptive Group Sequential Design for Phase II Clinical Trials: A Bayesian Decision Theoretical Approach”

2006: 1st Place
Melissa Spann
“Bayesian Adaptive Non-Inferiority Assessment: Retrospective Analysis of Clinical Data”

2005: 1st Place
Wei Zhang
“An Adaptive Dose-Finding Design Incorporating Both Toxicity and Efficacy”